English Russian
Facebook Page Follow our Twitter Updates ВКонтакте Skype

HNC / HND Health and Social Care


This Higher National Diploma is recognised at MQF/EQF Level 5.




HND: 120 ECTS  



2 Academic Years



This course is designed to enable you to develop the underpinning knowledge, values and understanding for success in employment in the Health and Social Care sector at supervisory or managerial levels, as well as enhancing practical skills. 

Emphasis on practical skills development alongside the requisite knowledge and understanding is an important component of the course. You will learn through practical assignments that focus on the real-world challenges and will be expected to develop the skills to analyse, and summarize information critically and appreciate the interdisciplinary nature of health and social care service provision during the programme of study. 

This course covers the key operations that shape the health and social care sector. After completing this course, you can seek a career within the business and administration areas vital to health and social care. To fully complete this HND qualification, you must first obtain the HNC (1st year) and then proceed to the HND (2nd year). 


By the end of the course you will be able to:

  • demonstrate underpinning knowledge, understanding and skills for success in employment in the health and social care sector at supervisory or management levels
  • provide specialist studies relevant to individual health and social care vocations and professions in which you are employed or seek to gain employment
  • contribute to the health and social care sector through effective use and combination of the knowledge and skills gained on the course
  • progress to further professional development of higher-level skills, either for future study or career advancement.







The purpose of assessment is to ensure that effective learning has taken place of the content of each unit. Evidence of this learning, or the application of the learning, is required for each unit. The assessment of the evidence relates directly to the assessment criteria for each unit. The grading of BTEC Higher National qualifications is at the unit and the qualification level.

Each successfully completed unit will be graded as a pass, merit or distinction. A pass is awarded for the achievement of all outcomes against the specified assessment criteria. Merit and distinction grades are awarded for higher-level achievement.

Summary of grades 

In order to achieve a pass in a unit

  • All learning outcomes and associated assessment criteria have been met

In order to achieve a merit in a unit

  • Pass requirements achieved
  • All merit grade descriptors achieved and all prescribed indicative characteristics

In order to achieve a distinction in a unit

  • Pass and merit requirements achieved
  • All distinction grade descriptors achieved and all prescribed indicative characteristics



  • Have an ‘A’ Level standard of education; or
  • Relevant qualification at EQF/MQF Level 4
  • If English is not your first language, you will need:
  • IELTS 5.5 or equivalent



Pearson UK



Local Price: €6,600

Refund through Get Qualified Scheme: €4,620*

Net Amount: €1,980*

 *Terms and Conditions Apply



Last Updated: 06 Sep 17

member of   member of Domain Group
Copyright © Domain Group 2012-2018. All Rights Reserved    |    Login     |     Privacy Policy     |     by nms.com.mt @ website design