English Russian
Facebook Page Follow our Twitter Updates ВКонтакте Skype

Higher National Diploma in Computing

QF/EQF Level:

This Qualification is recognised at MQF/EQF Level 5.



 ECTS Credits

 120 ECTS 


Description of Study Programme

The Higher National Diploma Programme is a BTEC Edexcel Diploma awarded by Pearson (UK) comprising fifteen modules spread over two academic years. The modules cover the various skills and disciplines in IT/Computer Science preparing the student for the last year of the Bachelor's Degree. The following is a list of modules:


  • Unit 1: Programming
  • Unit 2: Networking
  • Unit 3: Professional Practice
  • Unit 4: Database Design and Development
  • Unit 5: Security
  • Unit 6: Managing a Successful Computing Project
  • Unit 8: Computer Systems Architecture
  • Unit 10: Website Design and Development


  • Unit 13: Computing Research Project
  • Unit 14: Business Intelligence
  • Unit 17: Network Security
  • Unit 19: Data Structures and Algorithms
  • Unit 20: Advanced Programming
  • Unit 21: Data Mining
  • Unit 30: Application Development

 This Qualification is delivered in a flexible classroom-based method.


Programme Aims

The purpose of this degree and the defined pathways are:

  • equipping you with knowledge, understanding and skills for success in employment in the computing industry
  • enabling progression to an undergraduate degree or further professional qualification in computing or a related area
  • providing opportunities for specialist study relevant to individual vocations and contexts
  • supporting you whether you are employed or entering employment in the computing industry
  • developing your ability in the computing industry through effective use and combination of the knowledge and skills gained in different parts of the programme
  • developing a range of skills and techniques, personal qualities and attributes essential for successful performance in working life and thereby enabling you to make an immediate contribution to employment
  • providing flexibility, knowledge, skills and motivation as a basis for future studies and career development in computing.


Method of Assessment

The purpose of assessment is to ensure that effective learning has taken place of the content of each unit. Evidence of this learning, or the application of the learning, is required for each unit. The assessment of the evidence relates directly to the assessment criteria for each unit. The grading of BTEC Higher National qualifications is at the unit and the qualification level.

Each successfully completed unit will be graded as a pass, merit or distinction. A pass is awarded for the achievement of all outcomes against the specified assessment criteria. Merit and distinction grades are awarded for higher-level achievement.

Summary of grades 

In order to achieve a pass in a unit

  • All learning outcomes and associated assessment criteria have been met

In order to achieve a merit in a unit

  • Pass requirements achieved
  • All merit grade descriptors achieved and all prescribed indicative characteristics

In order to achieve a distinction in a unit

  • Pass and merit requirements achieved
  • All distinction grade descriptors achieved and all prescribed indicative characteristics


 Entry Requirements

  •  Have an A'Level standard of education; OR
  • A relevant qualification at MQF/EQF Level 4; OR
  • For students whose first language is not English, competence in English must be demonstrated through an overall IELTS score of 6.0, or equivalent qualification

 Copies of certificates should be produced. A full CV in EuroFormat with a passport-size photo are also required.


Awarding Body

Pearson (UK)


Duration of Study Programme

2 Academic Years (both for Day Sessions and Evening Sessions)



Local Price: €6,600

Refund through Get Qualified Scheme: €4,620*

Net Amount: €1,980*

 *Terms and Conditions Apply 


Who Should Apply?

Students who wish to commence their studies for a BSc (Hons) in Information Technology or Computer Science and achieve a Diploma after two years. This course is also suitable for individuals who would like to consolidate their experience by getting a qualification. It is also an ideal course for mature students who would like to change their career path and for individuals who would like to study whilst keeping a full-time job.


Next Step

Successful completion of the Higher National Diploma (HND) gives the student the opportunity to embark on the one year BSc (Hons) Top-Up Degree which is the third (and last) year of the Bachelor's degree programme. 


      This Certification qualifies for the Get Qualified Scheme.

          Terms and conditions apply. 


Last Updated: 07 Aug 18


member of   member of Domain Group
Copyright © Domain Group 2012-2018. All Rights Reserved    |    Login     |     Privacy Policy     |     by nms.com.mt @ website design